Friday, 29 August 2014

Ebola: South Africa bans travellers from Guinea, Liberia, Sierra Leone

ebola-has-killed-69-guinea-januarySouth Africa has banned travellers from Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone, the three West African nations worst-hit by Ebola outbreak.

The disease, which has also spread to Nigeria, has killed at least more than 1,000 people in its worst outbreak ever. Five people have died in Nigeria after a Liberian man took the virus here.

South Africa said on Thursday that it would only allow its own citizens from Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone over fears of the virus, Reuters reported Thursday.

People travelling from Nigeria and other countries will also be allowed entry into South Africa, a government statement was quoted as saying.

South Africa is only the latest in a list of countries to have restricted access to the country, following Kenya, Seychelles and others.

No comments: